Skip to content

Aunt Martha Letter 4

April 20, 2013

We use to gather wheat and Rye straws to  braid to make hats for our boys and girls if we did not they did not have any. we also made coats vest and pants all by hand too. we did even think of a sewing machine

And we use to go and gather Willows and strip them of their bark so the old Lady that was staying with Mother’s could make clothes baskets to sell. the old Lady I would pick out quilt pattern she me to me because I was the oldest

And when we had our lesson to get we have our Knitting to do as well Oh  it was hard work to try and do both of them it was a wonder that we learn any thing when I working out with a family tahat ame from New York I leant to make heese that was a great help to me after I married for I could have something extra.

I guess I will finish up on this page if you had the facts as they were as we went along in our pioneer life I thin you could have made a very  nice book of it but what I have written is true no lie about it.

Oh there was a great deal  more no body know only those that went through those days of long ago of the pioneer day which is pass and gone I do not think we had school till after I was 10 year old I never taught one I thought I did not know enough to do so I work somebody kitchen will look better or what ever you do with it what you got I wrote all myself they have not seen it none of them now I will wish you all a best wishes to one all of you hope you are all well

Martha

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment